City Commission

Photo of the five members of the City Commission standing shoulder-to-shoulder under the City SealPhoto, from left, of Zone 4 Commissioner Randy Hartman, Zone 2 Commissioner Lisa Martin, Mayor Fred Cleveland, Zone 1 Commissioner Valli Perrine, Zone 3 Commissioner Jason McGuirk

The City of New Smyrna Beach operates under a Commission-Manager form of government. The City Commission, consisting of a popularly elected mayor and four zone commissioners, is responsible for legislative functions such as establishing policy, passing ordinances, adopting regulations, and developing an overall vision. The Commission also appoints a professional city manager to oversee administrative operations, implement its policies, and advise it.

The mayor serves a two-year term and commissioners each serve four-year terms.

Not sure which zone you live in? Please visit our online Find My District Map.


Regular meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m., except during a summer recess in July. Information about upcoming meetings and video replay of past meetings is available through the Agendas & Minutes page.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, persons requiring assistance to participate in meetings should contact City Clerk Kelly McQuillen via e-mail, by phone at (386) 410-2630, or either by mail or in-person at 210 Sams Ave., New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168 prior to the meeting.